top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewfyning

An Ode to The Ancient of Days

Updated: Feb 15, 2018



I

In the darkness I wander, lost, hopeless.

Is there hope, is there life to be had?

I call out to God only to be followed by silence.

How long will you let my sin slay me?

How long must I suffer from my guilt, my shame?

Where is your justice, when death is crouching at my door?

Where is the strength you promised to all those who place their hope in you?

Yet, I place my hope in you.

Still, I will await the light of day.

For I know in your silence, you are God!

The One who said, “Come to life O’ dead man.” And I awakened.


II

The One who said, “Come to life Dry Bones!”

It was you who showed me how to walk.

It was you who fed me in my infancy when I cried for milk.

Yes, you are good, and there is no fault found in you.

I will wait upon the Lord, I will wait.

You will bring to account my oppressor. Yes, you will hold even Death accountable.

Through your Son, God, I am acquitted of my iniquity.

Because He bled, I will live!

Because of His love, I will sing.

Yes, you Three are good!


III

What is Man that you are mindful of him?

It says in in the Song of Solomon you come undone from one glance of my eyes.

That I would look to the maker of the heavens and I would move you.

What love is this!

Oh, your love is an ocean and I’m drowning,

Consume me.

Direct me.

Here is my life Lord, take it.

Send me.

Send me.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page