top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturewfyning

Proof of God is in the Heart of a Musician

Musicians have a unique ability to find words for the soul. Even some of the wisest theologians fade in comparison to a well-written verse. Now, I’m not talking about Christian radio, cookie-cutter, homeschool jams, “musicians.” I’m talking about real artist.


What is it about the heart of a musician? Equipped with the best weapon God gave us to stir the soul, music.


If indeed there is such a thing as, “proof of God” – look to the musicians, here's why. Let’s examine how two different artists views depression.


First, let’s look at Tyler Joseph from Twenty One Pilots. In my opinion one of the best lyrical artist this century. In the song, Migraine, he lays out his struggle with suicide.

(I encourage you to listen to the song as you follow this verse- these lyrics come in verse two 1:47)



“I am not as fine as I seem

Pardon, me for yelling and telling you green gardens

Are not what's growing in my psyche, it's a different me

A difficult beast feasting on burnt down trees

Freeze frame, please let me paint a mental picture portrait

Something you won't forget, it's all about my forehead

And how it is a door that hold's back contents

That makes Pandora's box contents look non-violent

Behind my eyelids are islands of violence

My mind ship-wrecked this is the only land my mind could find

I did not know it was such a violent island

Full of tidal waves, suicidal crazed lions

They're trying to eat me, blood running down their chin

And I know that I can fight, or I can let the lion win

I begin to assemble what weapons I can find

'Cause sometimes to stay alive you gotta kill your mind.”


I’m finding a hard to time explaining the level of genius this verse contains. It comes from an aching heart in the valley of depression. I’m not sure of the faith of Tyler Joseph; I believe I’ve read a few articles where he claims to hold a Christian faith. This doesn’t seem far off, seeing his songs hover around spiritual themes.


However, this is not the focus. Tyler explains so well the dark side of depression. Music is compelling, the mouth of an artist can unlock the darkest of souls.

Now, let’s take a look an artist, who struggled with depression, but who openly holds to Christ, Josh Garrels.


Josh hits on some of his deepest struggles in his song Freedom, (please listen as you read)


For 19 years i was trapped in a prison

Feeding my escape by means of derision

But every man-made attempt just failed

When trapped in a jail

Of my own guilt, shame, and iniquity

I was looking for freedom

How'd I find freedom?

Oh! Oh, freedom...

From all of this

He said believe

He said believe

Who are you telling me to belei-e-eve... yea

'Said I'm the Christ

Oh!

...he said I'm the Christ

So I believed

Freedom!


What a beautiful way to relay his freedom in Christ through music. If we compare the two musicians, it appears Josh has tapped into a deeper source of hope. Something real, something tangible, a real hope, God.


So here’s my thoughts artist, professional, or amateur, or inspiring. Keep writing, keep singing. Even if your music reaches an audience of one, one life in the scheme of eternity can be and will be eternally grateful. For me, Josh Garrels has propelled my faith through valleys of doubts and apathy.


God’s spirit sings through the mouth of his children. It relates to the verse in Romans;

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. – Rom 8:28


We can also learn a lesson even from Tyler, though he seems far from God – there is evidence he is searching, fighting, his way home. Waiting for the eternal dawn, waiting for his savior. For the Tylers out there, use this time to seek, write. For when you climb the mountain, you will help others who are in the valleys, just as Josh Garrels is doing.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page